Ashurst Beacon

Ashurst Beacon Fell Race 23rd Jan 2016

Horwich RMI Harriers where out in force at the Ashurst Beacon Fell Race last Saturday which was the final race in the 2015 Championship. The underfoot conditions were very treacherous with very deep mud in places. The downhill start gets the field strung out quickly and with a one mile climb to the finish runners have to be careful not to go off to fast.

Ben Johnson of Southport won with his time well outside the course record held by Horwich’s Nick Leigh. The first Horwich finisher was Andy Ford whose 42.24 was good enough for 12th place. Two minutes behind in 23rd place came the consistent Graham Schofield – first vet O/55 in 44.31. Ian Hepburn ran well for 27th place and Nick Kelly just held off Paul Boardman by 4 seconds finishing 30th and 31st. Suzanne Budgett won her O/50 catagory in 61st and fourth lady in 49.01 with Tony Hesketh who won the race in 1988 just behind in 64th in a time of 49.18 taking the first O/65 award easily. Sandra Kelly ran well after doing a Park Run in the morning timed at 52.31 second O/45 in 94th place. Gordon Stone ran 57.30 for 122nd with Lawrence Purnell a minute behind him 131st.