Saturday 3rd April 2010.

After an uncertain week the weather held good for this years pike race. The underfoot conditions however were less than perfect for fast times, and left some who preferred to have a more cushioned road shoe for the gruelling finishing on the tarmac lacking traction on the top part of the course. Despite the mud the route was once again lined with many cheering spectators that contribute to the unique character of this historic race.

The race up front was a battle between Blackburn Harriers and Pudsey & Bramley. Thomas Cornthwaite was first to the pike and retained the lead on the descent to win from Ricky Lightfoot, Rob Hope and Danny Hope.

As usual Horwich RMI Harriers were very well represented with 27 runners out to tackle the race. First Horwich home, and winner of the Pike Race Challenge Cup, was Alastair Murray in a PB of 18:59, just holding off old Horwichian Paul Dugdale for 7th place. Graham Schofield took 15th overall and first V50. Third Horwich counter was Rob Jackson in 21st, completing his 26th consecutive pike race despite a cold, who along with Steve Nolan in 22nd completed the winning mens vets team. Tony Hesketh (correction) took the prize for first V60 in a time of 23:09, and John Coope was first V75 in a time of 32:52. Our only ladies representative was Nicole Kirkham finishing second LV50 in 29:18.

1st Thomas Cornthwaite (Blackburn) 17:31
7th Alastair Murray 18:59
15th Graham Schofield 20:04
21st Robert Jackson 20:53
22nd Steve Nolan 21:11
26th Denis Mason 21:28
27th Simon Parkinson 21:29
31st Paul Boardman 21:49
36th Gary Chadderton 22:19
41st Ian Hepburn 22:32
44th Tim Roe 22:50
46th Doug Fleming 23:07
49th Tony Hesketh 23:09
50th Mick Crook 23:09
52st Stephen Diaz 23:12
56th Albert Sunter 23:33
62st Wilf Brindle 23:54
65th Peter Ramsdale 24:07
75th Colin Wood 24:42
84rd Brent Brindle 25:18
91th Paul Kaye 25:58
110th Robert Whitaker 27:19
131th Mark Collier 28:38
143nd Anthony Turner 29:44
145th Lawrence Pinnell 29:50
147th Mark Sammon 30:08
148th Ed Swift 30:11
165th John Coope 32:52
166th Allan Blinkhorn 33:05

1st Laura Richers (Leigh) 21:46
14th Nicole Kirkham 29:18

A big thank you to the race organisers, marshals and helpers that make the race possible, especially Pete Bland, Rob Green and Colin Jones.

Full results at http://www.race-results.co.uk/results/2010/pike10.htm

A selection of photos here courtesy of Ian and Pauline Charters.

More photos here courtesy of Thomas Irwin.

Pike Race 2010 – Thomas Irwin

A few more photos here courtesy of Dave Pinnington.